WTF happened yesterday (Saturday, 05 Jun 10)? I clicked on the Aksys link in my favorites and it took my to some crazy link that my AVG blocked. Did anybody else experience this? If so, and Aksys got hacked does this mean that everybodies personal information was exposed to whomever hacked in?
Was it just my computer?
(13 posts) (7 voices)-
Posted 1 year ago #
-
Oh wow, I thought that was just me. Yeah, I clicked on the site and it took me to some Swedish site (Noel? :P).
I actually just uninstalled AVG since I thought it was interfering with my access with other sites.
By any chance, is anyone not able to use DISqus or enter sites like Spill.com? Not only that, but some programs are not reading that I'm already online - now I can't re-d/l AVG.Posted 1 year ago # -
That is strange. I didn't experience anything like that, but I don't have AVG. Perhaps it was an issue with AVG? I also tried logging in to Disqus at Siliconera, and it worked fine. I don't see any evidence of hacking on our site, so whatever it was that happened, I don't think it happened here.
Data, data, data. I cannot make bricks without clay.
Alles andere ist käse.
And in case there is any confusion, yes, I do work for Aksys. If you have a questions, or care to verify my identity, you can e-mail me by putting my username in front of @aksysgames.com.Posted 1 year ago # -
Yeah, I got the same problem (deleting the cache, my bookmarks to Aksys, and rebooting fixed it), it sent me to some webhost called "Black Internet". The Aksys page loaded some strange java at the end and the URL and said "We interrupt your web browsing for a word from our sponsor" and then auto linked to the other site. I emailed the webmaster about it yesterday evening.
"import JUMBOCOCK lolis"
--Aksys Games Forums, Hot Tags sectionPosted 1 year ago # -
Yeah, I forgot about this happening the other day because I'm in the middle of my work week... But it definitely looked like the site had been hacked. It's still in my internet history; the title for http://www.aksysgames.com/forums has no mention of Aksys but is named "www.blackinternet.se - cheap webhosting." When the site loaded it said "Black Internet - Internets Svarta Riddare." I'm not very computer savvy and have no idea what AVG is, I just know I had tried to bring up the Aksys site on my PC and my MacBook and neither worked...
Neil Hamburger(Il buono): Why did God send Terri Schiavo to hell? For the sin of sloth.
D.Plainview(Il brutto): I have a competition in me. I want no one else to succeed. I hate most people.
Kakizaki(Il cattivo): [Edit] That's what I do when I feel threatened, because God gave me a baby penis.Posted 1 year ago # -
I have AVG, no problems here. Which browser are you guys using?
Posted 1 year ago # -
Thanks for the address of the site, Kunio-kun. I did a little research, and it looks like our site wasn't the only one experiencing this issue. Apparently, one of the nameservers for the company that hosts our site was somehow affected or attacked (they aren't clear), and that caused the redirect for some people trying to access sites hosted by our host.
The short version is that no, the Aksys Games site was not hacked, and as such, all personal information stored therein is safe.
Data, data, data. I cannot make bricks without clay.
Alles andere ist käse.
And in case there is any confusion, yes, I do work for Aksys. If you have a questions, or care to verify my identity, you can e-mail me by putting my username in front of @aksysgames.com.Posted 1 year ago # -
That's good to know!
Posted 1 year ago # -
Quig said:
That's good to know!Yes it is. :)
In case anyone is wondering what a "nameserver" is, it's basically a sort of address book. It maps our web address (aksysgames.com) to our IP address (I don't know what our IP address is). There are lots and lots of nameservers. When you type an address into your address bar, or click a favorite, or whatever, your browser sends out a request, which goes to the nearest nameserver. It checks its records to see what IP address corresponds to the address you just sent it, and then sends you to that IP address. What happened with our site was that one of the nameservers holding our domain name was compromised somehow, which meant that the record that said "aksysgames.com goes to IP address 1.2.3.4" got changed to something like "aksysgames.com goes to IP address 4.3.2.1", IP address 4.3.2.1 being the IP address of that "Black Internet" site. Like if someone changed the number in your phone for one of your friends, so that when you went to call that friend, you called someone else instead. The reason that only some people were sent to the other site was that only some people got sent to that particular nameserver. Other people from different locations were sent to other nameservers, and consequently didn't encounter the "redirect".
Data, data, data. I cannot make bricks without clay.
Alles andere ist käse.
And in case there is any confusion, yes, I do work for Aksys. If you have a questions, or care to verify my identity, you can e-mail me by putting my username in front of @aksysgames.com.Posted 1 year ago # -
A little more news on this:
If you continue to experience issues after clearing your cache, running "ipconfig /flushdns" in the command prompt on a Windows system (if you're in Vista or 7, remember to "Run as administrator") will flush your DNS info, and hopefully help resolve the problem. You can also reconfigure your computer or your router to use Google's DNS servers (http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html), which should also resolve the issue.
Data, data, data. I cannot make bricks without clay.
Alles andere ist käse.
And in case there is any confusion, yes, I do work for Aksys. If you have a questions, or care to verify my identity, you can e-mail me by putting my username in front of @aksysgames.com.Posted 1 year ago # -
Thanks for the info Belisarius! I also got a reply email about 10 minutes ago. Everything seems to be working cool now...Except for my computer's tendency to start bleeding heavily out the ears when I look at flash heavy website. :p
Anyway, thanks for the updates."import JUMBOCOCK lolis"
--Aksys Games Forums, Hot Tags sectionPosted 1 year ago # -
legacytyphoon said:
Thanks for the info Belisarius! I also got a reply email about 10 minutes ago. Everything seems to be working cool now...Except for my computer's tendency to start bleeding heavily out the ears when I look at flash heavy website. :p
Anyway, thanks for the updates.No problem. Glad to hear everything's working for you.
Data, data, data. I cannot make bricks without clay.
Alles andere ist käse.
And in case there is any confusion, yes, I do work for Aksys. If you have a questions, or care to verify my identity, you can e-mail me by putting my username in front of @aksysgames.com.Posted 1 year ago # -
Oh yeah i got this as well, i though i typed something bad so i just put aksys games on google, clicked there, and i got on the site normally
You only have eyes for that blue!, for that blue sky!
Come and check my drawings http://thrust-the-sky.deviantart.com/ ;3Posted 1 year ago #
Reply
You must log in to post.

